Voice of Monarch Butterflies

The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet

voice of monarch butterflies

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Voice-Monarch-Butterflies-Eastern-Anthology/dp/1533565198/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466708530&sr=8-1&keywords=voice+of+monarch

I didn’t come to this anthology cold. I am already following two of its poets on Twitter: the editor, Iranian poet Soodabeh Saeidnia, and my friend, Egyptian poet Ash Bahget, host of the #Ashverse poetry thread and a muse to many of us in his own right. I confess I bought the book purely to have the pleasure of reading some of Ash’s longer works. Twitter poetry is a challenge and a pleasure, but there is a different vibe in a longer poem, room to breathe and stretch a little, to let the words spread themselves out and show their depth.

I have a great respect for any writer who has the strength of will to write in a language not their first. Reading these poems, I prepared myself to be tolerant, thinking that quality might easily be hidden under a lack of facility with the language. O woman…

View original post 402 more words

Leave a Reply

