“Apology” in NYU Literacy Review

I read my poem, Apology, in the celebration for annual publishing of Literacy Review, vol 15 at New York University, Kimmel Center. That was an amazing experience. The editors and the Dean of school were all really lovely and great people. Thanks ARNIC teachers and staff.

Apology

I owe you an apology

I didn’t steal

I only borrowed your tongue

to make my crafts

I’m afraid, mine is too odd to make sense

 

Instead, I promise to return

a mixed emotional poem,

a brown hybrid of black and white cauldrons,

in which all your words are float in a panic stew

 

A poem, in which kids drop their slippers

and run on the landmines that no longer hide

beneath the hot, barren soil

The soil that is no longer cultivated

 

A poem, in which adults throw up,

and whimper of wandering in a hopeless boat

climbing and stepping on each others’ shoulders

 

and during the time I am searching for

the correct plural form of corpus,

they’ve already stacked corpora of withered bodies

 

and while I am wondering if I unify the number of lines

in all stanzas, they’ve lost a number of their siblings and kids

I think I owe an apology to them and to myself

 

To my ancestors who lived in Cyrus the great’s Empire

and already carved human rights on rocks

Who never expected their offspring including me

to translate it from other languages to the mother tongue

 

 

Leave a Reply

